CalCCW  

Go Back   CalCCW > Concealed Carry in California > General CCW Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2009, 12:39 PM

Default How to: Shipping a Firearm with UPS/FedEx

could some of you give me some pointers on how to ship a firearm?

I'm shipping my Glock 23 to Robar to get the np3 coating on the slide and internals of the frame.

They told me to UPS/FedEx overnight or 2 day.

what would be the best way of doing this? walking in with the firearm in a soft square case and have them packing it for me? what about when they ask me what it is I am shipping, I don't want some punk 17yo kid knowing that im dropping off a firearm that he will hold for me for several hours until it get shipped out.... or am I being paranoid? this is my FIRST time shipping OUT a firearm, usually i get them shipped in

BTW Robar is having 15% off sale in case you were wondering
Old 09-22-2009, 12:50 PM
Skating On Thin Ice

Maybe if you ship in 2 separate packages, then it's just "parts." I do know they don't want you shipping fully assembled firearms from satellite locations like Staples or Kinkos. I once UPS'd a complete AR upper (not a firearm) from Staples...I used the description "rifle barrel." Keep us updated.
Old 09-22-2009, 01:09 PM
SB Member

Without actually looking it up.... if I remember correctly, all handguns need to be shipped from an FFL to an FFL.

As far as the shippers.... UPS and FedEx now want long guns shipped through an FFL as well. USPS will ship a long gun from a private party as long as you follow proper protocol and declare it etc.

Again... this is based on my memory... but I believe it to be accurate.
Old 09-22-2009, 01:10 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Scott~ View Post
Without actually looking it up.... if I remember correctly, all handguns need to be shipped from an FFL to an FFL.